By: Barbara Wettstein | Public Affairs Specialist at Nestlé | June 20th, 2016

Didier Burkhalter, President of the Swiss Confederation (center) attending the Creating Shared Value Forum in 2014 (Photo Credit: Nestle Flickr). 

On 21 June, we at Nestlé will hold our Creating Shared Value Global Forum in Africa.

Entitled Investing in Sustainable Development in Africa, the forum will bring together business, civil society and government leaders from Africa and beyond to discuss a range of key topics affecting the African continent.

As the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) set targets to address major socio-economic challenges such as food security, the double burden of malnutrition and management of scarce natural resources, the active engagement of all stakeholders, including the private sector, becomes critical.

Watch the live webcast on 21 June as we engage panelists and participants in thoughtful discussions on how governments, civil society, and the private sector can work together to accelerate sustainable development in Africa. This is an opportunity to listen to, and exchange ideas with, top experts in the field of nutrition, rural development, and sustainable development.

Among the highlights from the agenda: At 10:00 GMT, Former UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan will deliver a keynote address on building stronger economies and communities in Africa. Later at 16:15 GMT, shared value expert Michael Porter will sit down with our Chairman Peter Brabeck-Letmathe and other practitioners to discuss how we might better define approaches to inclusive and sustainable economic growth.

At 14:00 GMT, our CEO Paul Bulcke will reveal the winner of the 2016 Nestlé Creating Shared Value Prize. The two finalists are Natural Extracts Industries (NEI) from Tanzania and Agro-Hub from Cameroon. NEI is a social enterprise pioneering the sustainable extraction of flavours in Tanzania. Agro-Hub is an agricultural production and marketing agency in South-West Cameroon working to help small-scale cassava farmers gain access to sustainable markets. They were selected from 450 applicants for this year’s prize.